Dacast Video Storage Overview and Pricing FAQ

By Ruth Young

3 Min Read

author avatar

Ruth Young

Ruth is a Customer Success Specialist with experience in digital video platforms as well as technology companies in Silicon Valley and beyond.

Table of Contents

    This column acts as a detailed Q&A for how storage works over the Dacast system. Please feel free to comment on which topics you’d like to see addressed here.

    How Much Storage is Included with My Account?

    This depends on your plan level. Please log in to your Dacast account and click DASHBOARD and the top center box shows how much included storage you have. If you are considering buying a plan, and not sure which to go with, please consult our pricing page.

    How Much is Storage if I Go Over?

    The answer to this varies. Starter Plans and Event Plans are charged $0.15 a month for each GB of storage they go over their limit.

    How Often is Extra Storage Billed?

    If you are over your storage limit, extra storage is billed monthly.

    What is the Minimum Charge for Extra Storage?

    For monthly plans, there is no minimum and the charge for extra storage occurs on the same day as your plan rebill date.

    How do I Purchase Additional Storage?

    Please reach out to our 24/7 Support team at: www.dacast.com/support

    You can also increase your included storage by upgrading to a higher plan.

    How is Storage Cost Calculated?

    Storage cost is calculated from the peak storage used each month for the plan. So deleting all videos just before the billing date, for example, will not bring the cost to 0.

    How Does Multi-bitrate Work with Storage?

    All bitrates are added up and factored into the storage amount:

    Do Inactive Files Count Toward My Storage Total?

    Yes, all files on your account (up until they are deleted), regardless of whether they are turned ON or OFF, count toward your storage total. If you are unclear what your total storage might be, please click DASHBOARD on the left sidebar after logging into your account.

    If I Cancel My Plan, What Happens to My Stored Files?

    If you cancel a plan, and dont purchase any additional data bandwidth, your files will be removed from your account.

    Any questions or you want to access this feature? Please contact us.

    Not yet a Dacast user, and interested in trying Dacast risk-free for 30 days? Sign up today to get started.

    get started for free

    Additional Resources

     

    author avatar

    Ruth Young

    Ruth is a Customer Success Specialist with experience in digital video platforms as well as technology companies in Silicon Valley and beyond.

    Sign up for a 14-Day trial.

    Read Next

    article featured

    In What Currency Will Dacast Issue My Paywall Revenue?

    author avatar

    Harmonie Duhamel

    1 Min Read

    article featured

    Is There a Limited Number of Live Channels in My Dacast Account?

    author avatar

    Ruth Young

    1 Min Read