⚠️ MULTI-USER ACCESS FEATURE IS A BETA VERSION AND IS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR SELECTED CUSTOMERS FOR NOW.
This feature allows you to invite users (team members, for example) to your Dacast account and manage the permissions you want to grant them. So that multiple people can collaborate and share the same billing account and, in some cases, content.
In this article, we will explain the number of users/seats available in your account, the different roles available with this feature, how to add new users to your account, and where to find the feature.
How many users do I have in my account?
Based on your Dacast plan, you will have different numbers of seats/users per default:
- Free trial: 1 user
- Starter plan: 1 user
- Event plan: 1 user
- Scale plan: 3 users
- Custom plan: 5 users
Additional seats can be purchased for $10 per user per month.
What are the different roles?
In total, there are 3 different roles, giving each user different permissions. We invite you to take a look at the different roles and the permissions granted for each role below:
- Owner: the account owner has full access and can do anything in the account.
If there is only one user, it will be this one. The Owner is the primary contact for the account.
- Admin: can do anything except billing and paywall withdrawals.
The Admin has identical permissions to the Owner, but Accounts can have multiple Admins, not multiple owners.
- Creator: can create, edit and delete their own content but cannot access content owned by other users.
For example, this can be a basic user in a larger organization who needs to be isolated in their own context.
How to add new users to your account?
1) In your Dacast account, you will click in “Account” in your Menu and then “Users” as shown below:
Once in the Users section, you will be able to see the number of seats (users) available in your account and to add new users by clicking on Add User as shown below:
2 ) When clicking on Add User, you will see the following pop up window:
You will enter the user’s email you want to add and select the role you want for this user.
By enabling the Admin role, the user will be able to do anything except billing and paywall withdrawals.
And if you do not wish to give Admin access for now, the user will have the Creator role, which allows the person to create, edit and delete their own content but not access content owned by other users.
Note that you can always review the permissions later on, as we will show you in the following steps.
Once you are ready to add a new user, click on Add.
3) The access just created should appear as shown below:
You can always see your different users, their roles, and if they accepted your invite in the Users section.
Note that if someone has been invited but has not accepted your invite yet, the status will remain Invited, and the name and the role won’t appear.
How to buy more user seats for your account?
In case you need to add more users in your account, you can always purchase additional seats for $10 per user per month.
To do so, you will need to click on Change Number of Seats (available under Account > Users) as shown below:
The following window should pop up:
You will be able to add seats by clicking on the + button under Add Seats, and then by clicking Next, you will be redirected to the payment confirmation.
Once you are ready with the payment details, click on Purchase, and the new number of seat will be automatically added to your account in the circled section as shown below:
How to manage my users?
As the owner of the account, you will have the possibility to:
- Edit a user access
- Delete and transfer a user content
- Resend an invite
- Change account owner
A. Edit a user access
To change a user role/permissions, you will click on the three dots icon on the right side of the user access you want to modify, and then you will click on the edit option as shown below:
The following window should pop up:
You will be able to manage your users’ accesses by upgrading (Admin) or downgrading (Creator) their roles.
Once you are satisfied with your choice, please click SAVE.
B. Delete a user access
To delete a user, you will click on the three dots icon on the right side of the user access you want to delete, and then you will click on the delete option as shown below:
Based on the user activity, you will see the following pop up window (if the user has not created content):
In this case, all you have to do is to click on Delete to remove the user.
In case the user you want to delete has created content, you will see the following pop up window:
In this case, you will have 2 options: transfer to another user the content or delete the user and his content permanently.
C. Resend an invite
In case you’ve sent an invite to someone but he has not accepted yet, you can always resend an invite by clicking the three dots icon on the right side of the user access and then on the Resend invite option as shown below:
Once you have completed the previous steps, you will see the following pop up to inform you that the user invite has been resent:
D. Change account owner
In case you need to transfer your owner role to someone else, you can do so by clicking on Account, then Company.
To select the new account owner, you will click on the dropdown as shown below and click on Change Owner to keep your selection:
Note that if you make someone else the Account Owner, only that person can transfer this role back to you.
For restricted access users:
If you have restricted access to a Dacast account, but you also want to have your own Dacast account, you can create a new account. To do so, you will have to create your own Dacast account with a different email address than the one that has been used for the restricted access you’ve been given.
- Multiple accounts with a single email address:
This use case might be rare, but if you are part of different teams using different Dacast accounts and they added you with the same email address, you would have access to multiple accounts with the same email address.
In this case, you will be able to switch between your account as shown below:
To change from one account to another, you will only have to log out and log in again.